Pilot projects from Bangladesh, Nepal and India winners of AGFUND Prize in the field “Quality education” the 4th SDG goal

28 Feb 2018
“No Poverty” is subject for AGFUND Prize 2018

The Arab Gulf Programme for Development (AGFUND) announced the winners of AGFUND International Prize for Pioneering Human Development Projects for the year 2017 in the field “Ensure inclusive and quality education for all and promote lifelong learning. These projects were approved by the Prize Committee in its 19th Meeting, held at AGFUND premises on February 28th, 2018 and chaired Her Majesty Queen Sofia of Spain, Member of AGFUND Prize Committee, on behalf of HRH Prince Talal bin Abdul Aziz, President of AGFUND. The Committee has approved 3 winners from among 76 projects submitted for the Prize in the field of “quality education” the fourth SDG goal. The winner of the First Category Prize (US$ 400,000), which is allocated for projects implemented by UN, international or regional organizations, is “  Non-Formal Primary Education (NFPE) Program  ” which is implemented by : BRAC Organization (Bangladesh Rehabilitation Assistance Committee)    in. Bangladesh The Second Category Prize (US $ 300,000) allocated for projects implemented by national NGOs is approved for “Accelerating a Sustainable Solution for Quality Education”, Implemented by Jeevan Bikas Samaj in Nepal

The Third Category Prize allocated for projects by government agencies has been withheld for failure to meet the award criteria The Fourth Category Prize (US 100,000) allocated for projects implemented by individuals  is approved for “1.   Prevention of Trafficking Through Vocationalized Education”, Implemented by Ms. Sunitha Krishnan, Founder of Prajwala India

The Committee also approved “ No Poverty ,The eradication of poverty in all its forms everywhere” the  first  Sustainable Development Goals | Agenda 2030   as subject for AGFUND International Prize 2018. It is worth mentioning that the qualified nominations are evaluated by a team of experts, who are specialized in the field of the Prize. The evaluation process is undertaken based on the criteria specified in the Prize statute. The Prize Committee membership comprises a number of renowned international figures representing the world regions, namely: Her Majesty Queen Sofía of Spain representing Europe, Mrs. Mercedes Menafra, Former First Lady of Uruguay, representing Latin and North Americas, H. E. Dr. Ahmed Mohammed Ali, representing the Arab region, Professor Muhammad Yunus, Noble Peace Prize Laureate, Representing Asia and Dr. Y. S. Abdulai, representing Africa.

Related Posts